Need food? Call our SNAP Hotline: 215-430-0556

2013-2014 Challenge Winners

Thanks to the support of our generous sponsors, schools that achieve the largest gains in breakfast participation received cash prizes and other awards in June of 2014. Congratulations to all of our winners and to all schools that completed the Challenge!


Awarded to the three schools that report the greatest increases in breakfast participation:

FIrst Place

Feltonville School of Arts & Sciences
Philadelphia School District
Prize: $3,000

Second Place (TIE)

RB Wiley Charter School
Erie School District
Prize: $1,500


Woodrow Wilson Middle School
Philadelphia School District
Prize: $1,500

 Best Breakfast By Grade

The top elementary, middle and high schools (excluding Challenge Champions above) that saw the biggest improvements:

Top High School

Maritime Academy Charter School
Philadelphia School District
Prize: $750

Top Middle School

Maritime Academy Charter School
Philadelphia School District
Prize: $750

Top K-8 School

John Jenks School
Philadelphia School District
Prize: $750

Top Elementary School

Saegertown Elementary School
Penncrest School District
Prize: $750

Runners-Up BY GRADE


North East High School
Northeast School District
Prize: $500


Woodrow Wilson Middle School
Erie School District
Prize: $500


Potter-Thomas School
Philadelphia School District
Prize: $500


Mill Village Elementary School
Fort LeBoeuf School District
Prize: $500

Top School District 

Awarded to the school district that achieve the biggest gain in breakfast participation

Laurel Highlands School District
Prize: $1,750

School district runners up

Hollidaysburg School District
Prize: $750

Wellsboro School District
Prize: $750

West Allegheny School District
Prize: $750

Additional prizes 

Innovation award

Ephrata Itermediate School
Prize: $500

Price chopper regional awards

(Luzerne and Lackawanna County Schools Eligible)

1st Place
Dymond Elementary School
Prize: $1,000

2nd Place
Abington Heights Middle School
Prize: $600

3rd Place
Bancroft Elementary School
Prize: $400

honorable Mentions

Prize: $500 to Each

Clairton Middle School/High School 
Dormont Elementary School 
Iroquois Elementary School 
McKinley Elementary School 
Pfeiffer-Burleigh School
Second District Elementary School
Tracy Elementary School


Philadelphia Phillies Tickets

Kernsville Elementary School (Parkland School District)
Bald Eagle Area School District
Solanco School District
Pennridge School District
Lebanon School District
North Penn School District

Pittsburgh pirates tickets

Karns City Area School District
Ringgold School District
Jefferson County DuBois AVTS
Belle Vernon Area School District
Moshannon Valley Junior-Senior High School
Western Beaver County School District
Conemaugh Valley High School

 Each participating school also received a letter of recognition from then Governor Tom Corbett and then First Lady Susan Corbett.